Friday, September 13, 2019 2:00 PM ~ 3:00 PM ET

Please join the U.S. Department of Education, the U.S. Department of Labor, the U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness, the City of Los Angeles, the Latin American Youth Center, and NCHE for a new webinar on September 13. 

Description

Title: Supporting Youth and Young Adults Experiencing Homelessness through Education and Workforce Partnerships
Date and Time: Friday, September 13, 2019 | 2-3 pm ET / 1-2 pm CT / 12-1 pm MT / 11 am - 12 pm PT
Registration Link: https://uncg.webex.com/uncg/onstage/g.php?MTID=ec6b5e606e31e759078a38659090e968a

Without the education and training needed to secure living-wage employment, young people experiencing homelessness will struggle to make a sustainable exit from homelessness. In this webinar, attendees will learn about:

  • the connection between education, employment, and housing affordability outcomes, including as addressed in Home, Together: The Federal Strategic Plan to Prevent and End Homelessness;
  • federal education and employment programs that serve youth experiencing homelessness (McKinney-Vento Education for Homeless Children and Youth, Perkins Career and Technical Education, Adult Education, WIOA Youth Formula, YouthBuild, and Job Corps);
  • policy and practice levers to encourage more targeted local efforts to ensure education and employment program access and success for young people experiencing homelessness;
  • two local programs (Los Angeles and Washington, DC) that serve youth experiencing homelessness through intentional education and employment partnerships.

Time will be provided for Q&A.

Presenter(s)

Presenters include:

  • Faatimah Muhammad, U.S. Department of Education
  • Jasmine Hayes, U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness
  • Christina Dukes, National Center for Homeless Education
  • Jennifer Kemp, U.S. Department of Labor
  • Chang Kim, City of Los Angeles
  • Susana Martinez, Latin American Youth Center